Denmark’s "Team Saxo – Tinkoff" is among the most experienced ProTour teams of TUR 2013

31/03/2013  //     //  Yol Bisikleti




Team Saxo – Tinkoff (TST)

Team Saxo – Tinkoff is a UCI ProTour team from Denmark. The former Tour de France winner Bjarne Riis is the owner of the team and Riss Cycling, the company behind the team. Saxo Bank, a Danish investment bank, and the Russian Tinkoff Bank are the title sponsors of team in their 6 and 2 years, respectively.

The team has a privilege to have won all three Grand Tours. With 12 years participating in the Tour, they have a richest history of all the Tour de France teams. Danish team has gathered two overall victories with Carlos Sastre in 2008 and Andy Schleck in 2010, 3 podium places such as young rider classification and overall team classification, 20 stage wins and 36 days in the yellow jersey. The Team had reached Pink Jersey of Giro d’Italia in 2006 with Ivan Basso. In 2012, Vuelta a Espana was won by 2nd time winner Saxo Bank-Tinkoff’s Alberto Contador.

The team has also won the UCI ProTour’s team classification each year from 2005 through 2007, and the team classification in the 2010 UCI World Ranking.

TUR experience in previous years

The Danish Team made an appearance in Turkey two times in 2011 under the name of Saxobank-Sunguard, and with the name Saxo Bank in 2012. 6 cyclists of the last two year’s TUR roster are still wearing the Team’s colors. The list as follow: Manuele Boaro, Jonas Aaen Jørgensen, JØRGENSEN Jonas Aaen, Benjamín Noval, Takashi Miyazawa, Christopher Juul-Jensen.



Team in 2013

Team Saxo Bank-Tinkoff Bank will be an exciting team to watch in 2013 season. They target an overall win in the Tour de France with their top rider, Alberto Contador. The Spaniard is one of five riders who won all three Grand Tours of road cycling. He made double in both three by winning 2007 and 2010’s Tour de France, 2008 and 2011’s Giro d’Italia and 2008-2012’s Vuelta a España. Roman Kreuziger, Evgeni Petrov and Michael Rogers are all experienced all-round riders to support him as his new team mates. A former triple UCI World Time Trial Champion, Rogers was an integral part of Team Sky’s victorious Tour de France team last year, whilst Kreuziger and Petrov have both shone in major stage races in the past.

2012 US road race champion Timothy Duggan and Italian time trial specialist Manuele Boaro, Danish climber and the most aggressive rider of last years’s Tour de France Chris Anker Sørensen will lead a talented international roster of riders. Irishman Nicolas Roche, twelfth in last year’s Tour de France, Italian fastman Daniele Bennati, UCI America Tour’s winner Rory Sutherland, 2011’s Lombardia winner Oliver Zaugg are among outstanding riders in 2013’s team roster.


BENNATI Daniele ITA 24.09.1980
BOARO Manuele ITA 03.12.1987
BRESCHEL Matti DEN 31.08.1984
CANTWELL Jonathan AUS 08.01.1982
CHRISTENSEN Mads DEN 06.04.1984
CONTADOR VELASCO Alberto ESP 06.12.1982
DUGGAN Timothy USA 14.11.1982
JÖRGENSEN Jonas Aaen DEN 20.04.1986
JUUL JENSEN Christopher DEN 06.07.1989
KREUZIGER Roman CZE 06.05.1986
KROON Karsten NED 29.01.1976
KUMP Marko SLO 09.09.1988
LUND Anders DEN 14.02.1985
MAJKA Rafal POL 12.09.1989
MIYAZAWA Takashi JPN 27.02.1978
MOREIRA PAULINHO Sergio Miguel POR 26.03.1980
MORKOV Michael DEN 30.04.1985
NOVAL GONZALEZ Benjamin ESP 23.01.1979
PETROV Evgeny RUS 25.05.1978
PIRES Bruno POR 15.05.1981
ROCHE Nicolas IRL 03.07.1984
ROGERS Michael AUS 20.12.1979
SÖRENSEN Chris Anker DEN 05.09.1984
SÖRENSEN Nicki DEN 14.05.1975
SUTHERLAND Rory AUS 08.02.1982
TOSATTO Matteo ITA 14.05.1974
ZAUGG Oliver SUI 09.05.1981
MCCARTHY Jay AUS 08.09.1992

Yazar Hakkında :

Bir Yorum Yazın