Tour d’Azerbaidjan Starts

30/04/2013  //     //  Road Bike, Road Bike News





25 teams from 23 countries will participate in Tour d’Azerbaidjan which will take place between May 1-5 this year. The International Cycling Tour in Memory of Heydar Aliyev, who’s the 3rd President of the state and the leader of the Azerbaijani people, was held last year in May as the first professional cycling event in the country and it was appreciated by both the participants and the level of organization and carrying out of the tour received a positive feedback from the participants, as well as the international and European cycling federations. As a Continental Team, Torku Şeker Spor that has a historical success in Tour of Turkey 2013, will also participate in the Tour, which is a 2.2 event in UCI European rce calendar. 



On the other hand, today, the general manager of Astana Pro Cycling Team, Kazakh Alexandre Vinokourov, who retired a while after he won the gold medal at the 2012 London Olympics Men’s Road Race, will attend the official opening ceremony, which will be attended by several heads of a number of National Olympic Committees, as a guest of honour as well.


Cyclingtr Media Team will be there in order to follow the Tour closely and support our brother country in the aspect of cycling, and will keep you updated with the news from Tour d’Azerbaidjan.






The Tour d’Azerbaïdjan starts on the 1st May in Baku. The start and finish line is situated right in front of the Heydar Aliyev Center, the impressive congress and exhibition hall of Baku. During the first stage the Riders pass 11 laps on a city circuit.


After this flat first stage in Baku the peloton will head into the Caucasus Hills for the second stage. From there the teams will ride through a picturesque landscape with stages that finish in Ismayilli and Qabala. On stage 3 the riders pass the race’s northernmost point in Sheki. The most challenging part of the race is the uphill finish of 22 km length to the Pirqulu National Reserve (altitude 1420 m) on stage 4.


The great finish will be on a hilly circuit in Baku passing the city’s most beautiful sights. “This city course is perfectly adapted for championships!” said Albrecht Röder, who planned the route on behalf of the Azerbaijan Cycling Federation.


1st stage – May 1

Baku circuit 11 laps, 14,3 km each, 157 km

The race will start near Heydar Aliyev Center. After 11 laps of 157 km of total length, passing the main avenue of Baku, named after the national leader of Azerbaijani people and up to the underground station “Koroglu” the peloton will finish near Heydar Aliyev Center.



2nd stage – May 2

Baku – Ismayilli, 185 km

The riders will start in the new Baku Bike Park and move ahead to the mountains of Great Caucasus passing Shamakhi. Having passed 185 km they will finish in Ismayilli.



3rd stage – May 3

Gabala – Oghuz – Shaki – Gabala, 165 km

The tour participants will start in Gabala, pass Oghuz region up to the ancient city of Shaki and then return to the starting point (165 kilometers).



4th stage – May 4

Gabala – Shamakhi – Tedris Merkezi uphill finish, 115 km

The competition participants will start again in Gabala, and move ahead through the Ismayilli region to Shamakhi city. The sportsmen will make 115 km and finish in the mountains at the altitude of about 1,450 meters above the sea level near Pirgulu Observatory close to the Training Centre of the Ministry of Taxes of Azerbaijan.



5th stage – May 5

Baku, circuit 12 laps, 12 km each, 144 km

The final stage of the tour with 146 kilometers of total length will start on Azadlig (Freedom) square and will pass through the main streets and avenues of the capital of the country, Baku, and finish in front of the Government House.




Teams that are participating:


Continental Teams

1 Synergy Baku Cycling Project (AZE)

2 Team Vorarlberg (AUT)

3 Rabobank Development Team (NED)

4 Efapel – Glassdrive (POR)

5 Atlas Personal – Jakroo (SUI)

6 Torku Şekerspor (TUR)

7 J. Jensen – Ramirent (DEN)

8 Leopard – Trek Continental Team (LUX)

9 Rad-net Rose Team (GER)

10 Polygon Sweet Nice (IRL)

11 ISD Continental Team (UKR)

12 Alpha Baltic – (LAT)

13 Helicopters (RUS)

14 Velo Club Sovac (ALG)

15 Start – Trigon Cycling Team (PAR)

16 Bridgestone Anchor (JPN)

17 Continental Team Astana (KAZ)



18 Lotto – Belisol U23 (BEL)

19 Centre Mondial du Cyclisme (SUI)


National Teams

20 National Team Australia (AUS)

21 National Team Iran (IRI)

22 National Team Spain (ESP)

23 National Team Belarus (BLR)

24 National Team Moldova (MDA)

25 National Team Lithuania (LTU)






About the Author :

Leave a Reply